Livescore Thursday, April 25
Newsletter
[gtranslate]

Having shared one of the best fights of 2022 with Claressa Shields at London’s O2 Arena in October, Savannah Marshall is targeting Franchon Crews-Dezurn’s WBC, WBA, WBO and IBF super middleweight titles when the pair meet at Manchester Arena.

Crews-Dezurn is unbeaten since also losing to Shields on points in her first professional contest in 2016, and the American’s first fight since outscoring Elin Cederroos at Madison Square Garden in April 2022 will also be her first outside her homeland.

Marshall and Crews-Dezurn are headlining the card after Liam Smith asked for his rematch against Chris Eubank Jr to be postponed because of an injury from which the Liverpudlian winner of their first fight is recovering.

The undercard features a super middleweight title fight as one of two confirmed all-British bouts, while the hugely popular Natasha Jonas is back in action and rising showman Ben Whittaker makes a quickfire return to the ring.

Here’s how the bill looks, as well as date and viewing information for Franchon Crews-Dezurn against Savannah Marshall.

MORE: Who are the best 12 heavyweight boxers in the world today?

Franchon Crews-Dezurn vs. Savannah Marshall undercard

Mark Heffron vs. Zak Chelli

  • Division/Weight: Super middleweight
  • Heffron record: 29-2-1, 23 KOs
  • Chelli record: 13-1-1, 6 KOs
  • Belts at stake: British and Commonwealth

In an intriguing domestic contest, Chelli — a schoolteacher by day, and a surprisingly dominant winner over American Anthony Sims to win a version of a WBA belt in February — challenges British champion Heffron.

While the attritional Chelli is on a run of six wins, Heffron beat Lennox Clarke at the Copper Box in July to secure the belts alongside an IBF title in the third of four successive knockout victories for the Oldham fighter. This showdown promises entertainment.

Callum Simpson vs. Boris Crighton

  • Division/Weight: Super middleweight
  • Simpson record: 11-0, 9 KOs
  • Crighton record: 11-3, 7 KOs

Area champion Simpson is on a run of eight successive knockouts, although only his two most recent opponents had winning records when they fought him.

Crighton — known as ‘Blade’ — has lost two of his last three fights by decision, those defeats coming against opponents with a combined record of only two losses from 41 bouts.

Natasha Jonas vs. TBA

  • Division/Weight: Super welterweight
  • Jonas record: 13-2-1, 8 KOs
  • Belts at stake: WBC, WBO, IBF light middleweight titles

Following her points defeat to Katie Taylor at Manchester Arena in May 2021, Jonas recorded four wins in less than 12 months from November of that year to collect three titles and win the 2022 British Boxing Board of Control Fighter of the Year.

Jonas rejected an offer sent by Shields’ team for a mooted fight between the pair and will now defend against an opponent who is yet to be confirmed.

Ben Whittaker vs. TBA

Crowd-pleasing Olympic silver medalist Whittaker is building a reputation for flamboyance partly inspired by Naseem Hamed — one of the heroes of the fighter known as ‘The Surgeon’.

The 25-year-old returned from nine months out with a shoulder injury to produce a showboating third-round stoppage of Jordan Grant in May, so it is little surprise to see Whittaker back in action swiftly.

When is Franchon Crews-Dezurn vs. Savannah Marshall?

  • Date: Saturday, July 1 | Sunday, July 2
  • Start time: 12 p.m. ET | 5 p.m. BST | 3 a.m. AEDT
  • Main event: 3 p.m. ET | 8 p.m. BST | 6 a.m. AEDT (approx.)

Crews-Dezurn vs. Marshall airs on July 1/July 2. The main card starts at 3 p.m. ET | 8 p.m. BST | 6 a.m. AEDT. Both fighters should make their way to the ring around 5 p.m. ET | 10 p.m. BST | 8 a.m. AEDT, depending on how long the undercard fights last.

MORE: Claressa Shields vs. Maricela Cornejo result: Shields retains undisputed middleweight title with unanimous decision win

How to watch Franchon Crews-Dezurn vs. Savannah Marshall

Country Date Channel + Live Stream (main card)
United States Sat. July 1 TBA
United Kingdom Sat. July 1 Sky Sports Box Office
Australia Sun. July 2 TBA

In the UK, the bout will air on Sky Sports. Broadcasting details in the US and Australia are yet to be announced.

Franchon Crews-Dezurn vs. Savannah Marshall price: How much does the card cost?

Sky Sports Box Office will charge £19.95 for the fight. Pay-per-view details outside the UK are to be announced.



Read the full article here

Leave A Reply