Livescore Tuesday, April 23
Newsletter
[gtranslate]

Fight fans have been waiting for a step up in competition for Jaime Munguia, and the Mexican star could do worse than battle-tested former world title challenger Sergiy Derevyanchenko on June 10. 

The pair will collide at the Toyota Arena in Ontario, California, on a card that will air on DAZN.

Munguia (41-0) turned pro in 2013. At just 26, he claimed super welterweight gold by beating Sadam Ali in 2018 for the WBO belt. He defended successfully on five occasions, beating the likes of Liam Smith, Takashi Inoue, and Dennis Hogan. Electing to vacate the belt, Munguia moved to middleweight in 2020. 

Since defeating Kamil Szeremeta and Gabriel Rosado, many thought he would be facing the best of the division by this point. Tied to Golden Boy Promotions, Munguia is certain that a victory over Derevyanchenko gives him a great shot of securing those fights.

Promoter Oscar De La Hoya also believes a win could open the door for bouts against Daniel Jacobs and Gennadiy Golovkin.

WATCH: Jaime Munguia vs. Sergiy Derevyanchenko, live on DAZN

“I’m happy to begin my year versus Derevyanchenko. He’s a solid opponent and a good test for my career,” Munguia told Ring. “This fight here is the next step in my career.”

A 2007 World Championships bronze medalist, Derevyanchenko turned pro in 2014. The Ukrainian made himself known when he took Daniel Jacobs to the limit in 2018, losing via split decision in a fight for the IBF middleweight belt. He got a second crack at gold in 2019 and also forced Golovkin to kick it up a notch. Derevyanchenko lost a close unanimous decision, again for the IBF championship.

The 37-year-old has gone 1-2 since then, losing to Jermall Charlo and Carlos Adames, but won his last bout in July 2022 against Joshua Conley. All those fights went the distance, something he wants to avoid against Munguia.

“I don’t want decision,” Derevyanchenko told Boxing Scene. “I lost a decision to Daniel Jacobs, Golovkin, and every guy. It’s close fight, and you don’t know who win, I don’t want decision.”

Here is all you need to know ahead of Munguia vs. Derevyanchenko, from time, channel, odds, card, and more.

MORE: The Sporting News ranks the world’s top 12 featherweights

When is Jaime Munguia vs. Sergiy Derevyanchenko?

  • Date: Saturday, June 10 | Sunday, June 11
  • Main card: 8 p.m. ET | 5 p.m. PT |  1 a.m. BST | 10 a.m. AEST 
  • Main event: 11:15 p.m. ET | 8:15 p.m. PT | 4:15 a.m. BST | 1:15 p.m. AEST (approx.)

Munguia vs. Derevyanchenko takes place on June 10. The main card starts at 8 p.m. ET | 5 p.m. PT |  1 a.m. BST | 10 a.m. AEST. Both main event fighters should make their way to the ring around 11:15 p.m. ET | 8:15 p.m. PT | 4:15 a.m. BST | 1:15 p.m. AEST, depending on how long the undercard fights last. 

How to watch Jaime Munguia vs. Sergiy Derevyanchenko

Region TV channel Live streaming
USA   DAZN
Canada   DAZN
UK and Ireland DAZN 1 HD DAZN
Australia   DAZN

The Jaime Munguia vs. Sergiy Derevyanchenko fight card will be available via DAZN. 

WATCH: Jaime Munguia vs. Sergiy Derevyanchenko, live on DAZN

Now available as a Sky channel, DAZN 1 HD is exclusive to Sky.

Jaime Munguia vs. Sergiy Derevyanchenko price: How much does the card cost? 

  • DAZN monthly subscription: $19.99 on a 12-month contract or $24.99 month-to-month in U.S. / $24.99 per month in Canada / £9.99 in the U.K. on a 12-month contract or £19.99 month-to-month / 13.99 AUD
  • DAZN annual subscription: $224.99 in U.S., $199.99 in Canada, £99.99 in the U.K.

Where is Jaime Munguia vs. Sergiy Derevyanchenko?

Mungia vs. Derevyanchenko is in the Toyota Arena in Ontario, California. The arena can hold up to 11,000+ people. 

How much do tickets for Jaime Munguia vs. Sergiy Derevyanchenko cost?

Ticket’s for Munguia vs. Derevyanchenko start at $59, per TicketSmarter.

Prices then range from $60, $70, $80, $90, $100, $200, $300, and $499. 

MORE: How to bet on combat sports

Betting odds for Jaime Munguia vs. Sergiy Derevyanchenko

Betting odds are currently unavailable for this fight. 

Jaime Munguia record and bio

  • Nationality: Mexican
  • Born: October 6, 1996
  • Height: 6-0
  • Reach: 70.5 inches
  • Total fights: 41
  • Record: 41-0 with 33 wins via knockout

MORE: Will Tyson Fury and Anthony Joshua actually fight in 2023?

Sergiy Derevyanchenko record and bio

  • Nationality: Ukrainian
  • Born: October 31, 1985
  • Height: 5-9
  • Reach: 68.5 inches
  • Total fights: 18
  • Record: 14-4 with ten wins via knockout

Jaime Munguia vs. Sergiy Derevyanchenko fight card

  • Jaime Munguia vs. Sergiy Derevyanchenko; Super Middleweights
  • Shane Mosley Jr. vs. D’Mitrius Ballard; Super Middleweights
  • Ricardo Rafael Sandoval vs. Rocco Santomauro; Flyweights
  • Jorge Chavez vs. Chrisitan Lorenzo; Featherweights
  • Anthony Saldivar s. Jerome Clayton; Super Welterweights



Read the full article here

Leave A Reply