Livescore Tuesday, April 23
Newsletter
[gtranslate]

Two decorated fighters clash inside Madison Square Garden’s Hulu Theater on June 10. Josh Taylor, a little lighter on the waist, will defend the WBO and The Ring super lightweight titles against former lightweight king Teofimo Lopez. 

The air will air on ESPN and ESPN+ in the U.S. and Sky Sports in the U.K. It will be Taylor’s first time fighting in “The World’s Most Famous Arena.”

A 2014 Commonwealth Games gold medalist, Taylor turned pro in 2015. A former Commonwealth super lightweight champion, Taylor made himself known by competing in the World Boxing Super Super Series light welterweight tournament in 2018. “The Tartan Tornado” beat Ryan Martin in the quarter-finals, Ivan Baranchyk in the semi-finals for the IBF title, and Regis Prograis in the finals for the WBA and The Ring belts. 

Beating Jose Ramirez for the WBC and WBO belts, Taylor beat Jack Catterall via a controversial split decision scoring. A rematch desired by boxing fans and Catterall never came to fruition. Stripped of multiple belts since then, Taylor will look to continue his run as champion in enemy territory. 

MORE: Sign up to watch Josh Taylor vs. Teofimo Lopez, exclusively on ESPN+ 

“My fight with Teofimo Lopez ends up the same way, except it’s me knocking him out,” stated during the Shakur Stevenson vs. Shuichiro Yoshino fight via Boxing Scene. “I’m completely 100% confident that this fight doesn’t go past six to eight rounds.”

At only 25, Lopez has already secured himself as an elite fighter by beating Richard Commey in 2019 for the IBF lightweight title and Vasiliy Lomachenko in 2020 for the WBA, WBO, and The Ring belts. On top of the world, “The Takeover” lost the belts against George Kambosos Jr. in 2021 and has since won two in a row after moving to the super lightweight division. 

Showing signs of doubt following his performance against Sandor Martin, Lopez will look to prove detractors, including himself, wrong on fight night. 

Here is all you need to know ahead of Taylor vs. Lopez, from time, channel, updated odds, card, and more.

When is Josh Taylor vs. Teofimo Lopez?

  • Date: Saturday, June 10 | Sunday, June 11
  • Start time: 10 p.m. ET | 7 p.m. PT | 3 a.m. BST | 12 p.m. AEST
  • Main event: 11:15 p.m. ET | 8:15 p.m. PT | 4:15 a.m. BST | 1:15 p.m. AEST (approx.)

Taylor vs. Lopez airs on June 10. The main card starts at 10 p.m. ET | 7 p.m. PT | 3 a.m. BST | 12 p.m. AEST. Both fighters should make their way to the ring around 11:15 p.m. ET | 8:15 p.m. PT | 4:15 a.m. BST | 1:15 p.m. AEST, depending on how long the undercard fights last. 

MORE: Who are the best 12 heavyweight boxers in the world today?

How to watch Josh Taylor vs. Teofimo Lopez

Country Date Channel + Live Stream (main card)
United States Sat. June 10 ESPN+
United Kingdom Sun. June 11 Sky Sports
Australia Sun. June 11 TBA

In the U.S., the fight will air on ESPN, ESPN Deportes, and ESPN. In the U.K., the bout will air on Sky Sports.

Josh Taylor vs. Teofimo Lopez price: How much does the card cost?

You can pay $9.99 for a monthly subscription to ESPN+ or buy an annual subscription for $99.99.

Product Prices
ESPN+ Monthly Subscription $9.99/month
ESPN+ Annual Subscription $99.99/year
The Disney Bundle w/Hulu Ad-Supported $13.99/month
The Disney Bundle w/Hulu No-Ads $19.99/month

MORE: Sign up to watch Josh Taylor vs. Teofimo Lopez, exclusively on ESPN+ 

Where is Josh Taylor vs. Teofimo Lopez?

Taylor vs. Lopez will be inside Madison Square Garden’s Hulu Theater. The Theater can hold up to 5,600 people. 

How much do tickets for Josh Taylor vs. Teofimo Lopez cost?

Tickets start at $86, per TicketSmarter.

Prices then range from $90, $100, $200, $300, $400, $500, $600, $700, $800, $900, and $1,329. 

Josh Taylor vs. Teofimo Lopez betting odds

Per Caesars, Josh Taylor is the -175 favorite, while Teofimo Lopez is the +150 underdog. 

MORE: How to bet on combat sports

In Canada, per Sports Interaction, Josh Taylor is the -189 favorite, while Teofimo Lopez is the +137 underdog. 

Josh Taylor record and bio

  • Nationality: British
  • Born: January 2, 1991
  • Height: 5-10
  • Reach: 69.5 inches
  • Total fights: 19
  • Record: 19-0 with 13 wins via knockout

Teofimo Lopez record and bio

  • Nationality: American
  • Born: July 30, 1997 
  • Height: 5-8
  • Reach: 68.5 inches
  • Total fights: 19
  • Record: 18-1 with 13 wins via knockout

MORE: Anthony Joshua: “The boxing world needs Tyson Fury fight”

Josh Taylor vs. Teofimo Lopez fight card 

Main card (10 p.m. ET)

  • Josh Taylor (c) vs. Teofimo Lopez for the WBO and The Ring super lightweight titles
  • Xander Zayas vs. Ronald Cruz; Junior Middleweights

Prelims

  • Henry Lebron vs. Christian Tapia; Junior Lightweights
  • Omar Rosario vs. Jan Carlos Rivera; Junior Welterweights
  • Bruce Carrington vs. TBA ; Featherweights



Read the full article here

Leave A Reply