Livescore Thursday, April 25
Newsletter
[gtranslate]

History will be made at the Little Caesars Arena on June 3, as Claressa Shields vs. Maricela Cornejo will be the first boxing bout to take place at the venue.

Shields defends her status as the undisputed middleweight champion in her home state of Michigan against Cornejo, who replaces Hanna Gabriels after the latter failed a drugs test.

The “G.W.O.A.T.” has competed at local venues such as Masonic Temple and the Dort Federal Event Center. Now she will attempt to retain her belts at the home of the Red Wings hockey team.

“I fought in the Masonic Temple, which held 4,500 people,” recalled Shields in an interview with FanSided MMA. “Now to see that my stardom has grown to become the first fighter to fight at the Little Caesars Arena in front of 15,000 people is huge.”

WATCH: Claressa Shields vs. Maricela Cornejo, live on DAZN

“I don’t know any other woman who was also African American that was given an opportunity like this in the world of boxing. We have always been told, ‘You’re not big enough. You don’t sell enough tickets.’ Now people are coming out, and now they need more. I’ve been able to really change the game in that aspect and show them that women’s boxing has grown from before to now and that it’s a completely different game.”

Cornejo turned pro in 2012. “La Diva” lost in a bid to capture the WBC middleweight title against Kali Reis in 2016. She worked back up the ladder but failed to capture the WBC super middleweight title in bouts against Franchon Crews-Dezurn in 2018 and 2019. Since then, Cornejo has gone on a three-fight win streak and beat Sheila Cunha via TKO in her most recent outing.

In order to watch Shields vs. Cornejo, fans must download the DAZN app.

“We are thrilled to have Claressa back on DAZN,” said Joe Markowski, CEO North America DAZN. “This homecoming fight for Claressa is highly anticipated by DAZN subscribers in the U.S. and Canada. We can’t wait to have another massive women’s fight on the platform after making history with Taylor vs. Serrano last year. Tune in live to DAZN, June 3 for this very special event.”

What is DAZN?

Founded in 2015, DAZN is a global over-the-top sports subscription video streaming service. 

DAZN launched in the U.S. in 2018 and came to an agreement with Eddie Hearn’s Matchroom Boxing. Several fighters have competed under the DAZN/ Matchroom brand, including Anthony Joshua, Katie Taylor, Canelo Alvarez, Gennadiy Golovkin, and Dmitry Bivol. Big fights have been on DAZN, including Canelo vs. Bivol, Joshua vs. Andy Ruiz Jr., Taylor vs. Amanda Serrano, and Gervonta Davis vs. Ryan Garcia.

How to watch DAZN: Available devices

You can use DAZN on your iPhone, iPad, Apple TV, Android phones and tablets, Android TV, Amazon Fire TV, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Amazon Fire tablet, Playstation, Xbox, and Google Chromecast.

WATCH: Claressa Shields vs. Maricela Cornejo, live on DAZN

Other devices are an LG Smart TV, Smartcast, Panasonic Smart TV, Samsung Smart TV, and Sony Smart TV.

You can also watch DAZN on web browsers at DAZN.com.

Claressa Shields vs. Maricela Cornejo price: How much does the card cost? 

  • DAZN monthly subscription: $19.99 on a 12-month contract or $24.99 month-to-month in U.S. / $24.99 per month in Canada / £9.99 in the U.K. on a 12-month contract, or £19.99 month-to-month / 13.99 AUD
  • DAZN annual subscription: $224.99 in the U.S., $199.99 in Canada, £99.99 in the U.K.

MORE: How to bet on combat sports

When is Claressa Shields vs. Maricela Cornejo?

  • Date: Saturday, June 3 | Sunday, June 4
  • Start time: 9 p.m. ET | 6 p.m. PT | 2 a.m. BST | 11 a.m. AEST 
  • Main event: 12 a.m. ET | 9 p.m. PT | 5 a.m. BST | 2 p.m. AEST (Approx.)

Shields vs. Cornejo starts on June 3, with the main card to begin at 9 p.m. ET | 6 p.m. PT | 2 a.m. BST | 11 a.m. AEST. The main event should start around 12 a.m. ET | 9 p.m. PT | 5 a.m. BST | 2 p.m. AEST, depending on when the undercard fights last. 

Claressa Shields vs. Maricela Cornejo fight card

  • Claressa Shields (c) vs. Maricela Cornejo for the undisputed middleweight title
  • Ardreal Holmes Jr. vs. Wendy Toussaint; Super Welterweights
  • Joseph Hicks vs. Antonio Todd; Middleweights
  • Joshua Pagan vs. Ronnell Burnett; Super Lightweights
  • Marlon Harrington vs. Gheith Karim; Super Welterweights 
  • Sarah Liegmann vs. Carisse Brown; Featherweights



Read the full article here

Leave A Reply