Livescore Wednesday, April 24


Brian Lara Cricket Academy (Trinidad) could host the second Test. © Getty

Dominica and Trinidad are set to host the two Tests between India and the West Indies next month. According to a tentative schedule shared among the boards of Cricket West Indies (CWI), Barbados, Trinidad, and Guyana will host the six white-ball games, including three ODIs and three Twenty20 Internationals.

As previously reported on this website, the final two T20Is will take place in Florida, USA. The series is scheduled to start on July 12 and conclude on August 13. The Indian team is expected to depart for the Caribbean on July 5-6.

The formal dates for the matches will be released once the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) finalizes the schedule. A formal agreement for the two additional T20Is has not yet been signed between the boards. It is expected to be formalized in the next few days, during the World Test Championship final in London, where members of the BCCI and CWI will meet.

Cricbuzz first reported on the possibility of India playing two extra T20Is in addition to the eight pre-decided games in the FTP — two Tests, three ODIs, and three Twenty20 Internationals — on March 25.

Viacom gets digital rights

Meanwhile, Viacom18 has secured the digital rights for the series and will stream the games for free on Jio Cinema, which was previously the digital platform for the IPL 2023. Dream Sports, the promoters of FanCode and the rights holders for Cricket West Indies bilateral matches, has sub-licensed the digital content to Viacom18. Additionally, Dream Sports is planning a deal with national broadcaster Prasar Bharati for the linear rights. DD Sports will broadcast the games on television, continuing an arrangement made last year between the two parties.

“We are working on various arrangements for the series. While the matches will be available on FanCode, we may also share the content with a couple of other platforms, both linear and digital,” an industry source in the know said.

Tentative schedule:

July 12-16: 1st Test in Dominica

July 20-24: 2nd Test in Trinidad

July 27: 1st ODI in Barbados

July 29: 2nd ODI in Barbados

August 1: 3rd ODI in Trinidad

August 4: 1st T20I in Trinidad

August 6: 2nd T20I in Guyana

August 8: 3rd T20I in Guyana

August 12: 4th T20I in Florida

August 13: 5th T20I in Florida

© Cricbuzz

Read the full article here

Leave A Reply