Livescore Thursday, April 25

No golfer has won the U.S. Open more than four times.

Victories in the tournament are hard to come by for even the best golfers. In the other three golf majors, at least one golfer in each has won at least five times, and two tournaments have seen at least six wins by a single golfer.

The top of the U.S. Open list is filled with many of the biggest names in golf history.

Who has won the U.S. Open the most in history? The Sporting News dives into the numbers.

Who has the most U.S. Open wins?

No one has won more major golf championships than Jack Nicklaus, so it should come as no surprise that The Golden Bear is atop the list of U.S. Open winners.

Nicklaus is tied with Willie Anderson, Bobby Jones and Ben Hogan with four wins in the U.S. Open. Only two golfers have won it three times: Hale Irwin and Tiger Woods.

Woods will not be tying Nicklaus, Anderson, Jones and Hogan in 2022 after he announced that he would not be playing. Brooks Koepka, who won the event in back-to-back years (2017 and 2018) could’ve tied Woods and Irwin if he’d caught a win, but he failed to complete the mission, ending the year’s event in 55th place with a score of +12.

Matt Fitzpatrick took home his first U.S. Open win, instead, with a score of -6.

Anderson also holds the record for the most consecutive wins with three in a row from 1903-05. John McDermott (1911-12), Jones (1929-30), Ralph Guldahl (1937-38), Hogan (1950-51), Curtis Strange (1988-89) and Koepka are the only golfers to ever win the U.S. Open in consecutive years.

Most U.S. Open wins by player

Twenty-two golfers have won at least two U.S. Opens. Koepka became the most recent golfer to win multiple times when he won the 2018 edition.

Golfers with multiple wins in the U.S. Open:

Golfer U.S. Open wins Years won
Willie Anderson 4 1901, 1903, 1904, 1905
Bobby Jones 4 1923, 1926, 1929, 1930
Ben Hogan 4 1948, 1950, 1951, 1953
Jack Nicklaus 4 1962, 1967, 1972, 1980
Hale Irwin 3 1974, 1979, 1990
Tiger Woods 3 2000, 2002, 2008
Alex Smith 2 1906, 1910
John McDermott 2 1911, 1912
Walter Hagen 2 1914, 1919
Gene Sarazen 2 1922, 1932
Ralph Guldahl 2 1937, 1938
Cary Middlecoff 2 1949, 1956
Julius Boros 2 1952, 1963
Billy Casper 2 1959, 1966
Lee Trevino 2 1968, 1971
Andy North 2 1978, 1985
Curtis Strange 2 1988, 1989
Ernie Els 2 1994, 1997
Lee Janzen 2 1993, 1998
Payne Stewart 2 1991, 1999
Retief Goosen 2 2001, 2004
Brooks Koepka 2 2017, 2018

Sara Tidwell contributed to this report. 

Read the full article here

Leave A Reply