Livescore Thursday, April 25

For the third time in CHL history, the Quebec Remparts are Memorial Cup champions. 

Quebec shut out the Seattle Thunderbirds 5-0 in the 2023 Memorial Cup final to win the club’s first title since 2006. 

Remparts forward James Malatesta, a Blue Jackets prospect, was named Memorial Cup MVP, with five goals in four games at the tournament. 

MORE: Watch the 2023 Memorial Cup final on Fubo (free trial, U.S. only)

The win for Quebec marks the seventh time in the past 11 Memorial Cups that a team from the QMJHL has emerged victorious at the tournament. 

Here’s what you need to know for the 2023 Memorial Cup:


When is the 2023 Memorial Cup?

  • Start Date: Friday, May 26
  • End Date: Sunday, June 4

The 2023 Memorial Cup will run for nine days from the end of May into the beginning of June. It starts on Friday, May 26.

The tournament will wrap up on Sunday, June 4 with the championship.

Date Time (ET) Matchup Channel
Friday, May 26 FINAL Quebec 8, Kamloops 3 TSN/RDS/NHLN
Saturday, May 27 FINAL Seattle 6, Peterborough 3 TSN/RDS/NHLN
Sunday, May 28 FINAL Kamloops 10, Peterborough 2 TSN/RDS/NHLN
Monday, May 29 FINAL Quebec 3, Seattle 1 TSN/RDS/NHLN
Tuesday, May 30 FINAL Peterborough 4, Quebec 2 TSN/RDS/NHLN
Wednesday, May 31 FINAL Seattle 6, Kamloops 1 TSN/RDS/NHLN
Thursday, June 1 FINAL Peterborough 5, Kamloops 4 (OT) TSN/RDS/NHLN
Friday, June 2 FINAL Seattle 4, Peterborough 1 TSN/RDS/NHLN
Sunday, June 4 FINAL Quebec 5, Seattle 0 TSN/RDS/NHLN

2023 Memorial Cup standings

The four teams will play each other once in a round-robin, totaling three games to determine seeding for the playoffs.

The No. 1 seed advances straight to the championship game while the Nos. 2 and No. 3 teams will play in a semifinal. If needed, there will be a tiebreaker the day before the semifinal game.

Teams earn two points for a win in regulation or overtime, but do not earn any points for any sort of loss. 

2023 Memorial Cup standings
Quebec Remparts 3 2 1 0 0 13-8 4
Seattle Thunderbirds 3 2 1 0 0 13-7 4
Kamloops Blazers 3 1 2 0 0 14-16 2
Peterborough Petes 3 1 2 0 0 9-18 2

How to watch the 2023 Memorial Cup on TV, live streams

  • TV channel (Canada): TSN/RDS
  • TV channel (U.S.): NHL Network
  • Stream (Canada):, TSN app
  • Stream (U.S.): Fubo

TSN will have coverage of all Memorial Cup games. RDS will have coverage for the French-speaking audience.

You can stream the games through or in the TSN app as well.

In the United States, fans can catch the Memorial Cup action on NHL Network. Cord cutters can stream NHL Network through Fubo, which offers a free trial. 

Where is the 2023 Memorial Cup?

  • Host city: Kamloops, B.C.
  • Venue: Sandman Centre

Kamloops is the host city for the 2023 Memorial Cup. All games will be played at the Sandman Centre, the home of the Blazers.

This is the second time Kamloops has hosted the tournament. The first time came in 1995 when the Blazers walked away as Memorial Cup champions.

Who is in the 2023 Memorial Cup?

The four teams competing in the Memorial Cup are the winners of the OHL (Peterborough Petes), WHL (Seattle Thunderbirds) and QMJHL (Quebec Remparts), in addition to a predetermined host team (Kamloops Blazers).

Peterborough Petes

The Petes are competing in the Memorial Cup for the 10th time in club history, and first time since 2006. They were the winner of the 2023 OHL Championship.

Peterborough finished the regular season as the No. 4 seed in the OHL’s Eastern Conference. The Petes made quick work of the Sudbury Wolves with a first-round sweep, followed by knocking off the No. 1 seed Ottawa 67s in six games in the second round. The North Bay Battalion pushed Peterborough to seven games in the third round, but the Petes won Game 7 to set up a date with the London Knights in the final. Peterborough defeated London in six games for their 10th OHL title. 

Leading the way for the Petes are NHL draft picks Brennan Othmann (Rangers), Owen Beck (Canadiens) and Tucker Robertson (Seattle), as well as Avery Hayes and goaltender Michael Simpson. 

Seattle Thunderbirds

The Thunderbirds are back in the Memorial Cup after making an appearance at the tournament in 2017. Fresh off winning their second WHL championship, Seattle is set to compete in their third Memorial Cup. 

Seattle finished as the top team in the Western Conference of the WHL, trailing only the Winnipeg Ice for the best record in the league. The Thunderbirds ran through the competition in the first two rounds, sweeping the Kelowna Rockets and the Prince George Cougars. It took six games to knock out Kamloops in the third round before Seattle dispatched Winnipeg in five games to win the WHL championship. 

There is no lack of star power on this team. Seattle has five first-round NHL draft picks Dylan Guenther (Coyotes), Brad Lambert (Jets), Kevin Korchinski (Blackhawks), Nolan Allen (Blackhawks) and Reid Schaefer (Predators). 

Quebec Remparts

Quebec returns to the Memorial Cup for the first time since 2015, This year marks the club’s eighth appearance in the tournament coming off their QMJHL title.

The Remparts were the best team in the QMJHL from start to finish. Quebec ran through the league playoffs with ease, sweeping the Charlottetown Islanders, Rimouski Oceanic and Gatineau Olympiques in the first three rounds. In the championship, the Halifax Mooseheads managed two victories against Patrick Roy’s crew, but Quebec won the championship in six games. 

At the helm of the Remparts are first-rounders Zachary Bolduc (Blues) and Nathan Gaucher (Ducks). Additionally, James Malatesta and Justin Robidas propel the offense. 

Kamloops Blazers

The Blazers are the host team of the 2023 tournament, earning an automatic bid as one of the four teams. This is the club’s seventh time playing in the Memorial Cup.

Kamloops finished with the third-best record in the WHL this season, trailing only Seattle in the Western Conference. After sweeping the Vancouver Giants and the Portland Winterhawks, the Blazers fell to the Thunderbirds in the semifinals. 

Olen Zellweger (Ducks) and Logan Stankoven (Stars), two second-round NHL selections, are at the forefront of the host team, as well as Caden Bankier (Wild) and Matthew Seminoff (Stars).  

Past Memorial Cup champions

While the four-team format has only been around since 1983, the Memorial Cup dates back all the way to 1919.

The three-team format with the three winners of the CHL leagues began in 1972. Since that creation, the WHL has won 19 times; the OHL has won 17; and the QMJHL has won 13.

Out of the active teams, the Oshawa Generals have the most Memorial Cup titles, with five. Here is a look at all the winners since 2000:

Year Winner
2022 Saint John Sea Dogs (QMJHL)
2021 N/A (Tournament canceled due to COVID)
2020 N/A (Tournament canceled due to COVID)
2019 Rouyn-Noranda Huskies (QMJHL)
2018 Acadie-Bathurst Titan (QMJHL)
2017 Windsor Spitfires (OHL)
2016 London Knights (OHL)
2015 Oshawa Generals (OHL)
2014 Edmonton Oil Kings (WHL)
2013 Halifax Mooseheads (QMJHL)
2012 Shawinigan Cataractes (QMJHL)
2011 Saint John Sea Dogs (QMJHL)
2010 Windsor Spitfires (OHL)
2009 Windsor Spitfires (OHL)
2008 Spokane Chiefs (WHL)
2007 Vancouver Giants (WHL)
2006 Quebec Remparts (QMJHL)
2005 London Knights (OHL)
2004 Kelowna Rockets (WHL)
2003 Kitchener Rangers (OHL)
2002 Kootenay Ice (WHL)
2001 Red Deer Rebels (WHL)
2000 Rimouski Oceanic (QMJHL)

Read the full article here

Leave A Reply