Livescore Thursday, April 25

The FIFA Club World Cup 2023 presents a chance for a team to push for the top honour in domestic world football at the end of the year.

The tournament pits the continental tournaments winners from FIFA’s main federations as part of a mini-competition to determine the world champion.

Despite criticism over their lack of planning for previous tournaments, FIFA have risked further rows with clubs, ahead of a string of changes for the 2025 competition.

The 2023 showdown will be the final edition of the current format with major expansions planned in the next two years.

MORE: Real Madrid win record fifth FIFA Club World Cup – as it happened

When is the next FIFA Club World Cup 2023?

The FIFA Club World Cup 2023 takes place from December 12 to December 22, 2023.

UEFA have confirmed they will not alter the Champions League and domestic league schedules for the games but other federations could make changes.

Where is the next FIFA Club World Cup 2023?

FIFA have moved the FIFA Club World Cup to Saudi Arabia in 2023, for the first time in the nation’s history, as part of their bid to host the 2030 FIFA World Cup.

Teams qualified for FIFA Club World Cup 2023

As per the 2023 qualification rules, seven teams will play at the FIFA Club World Cup 2023, including six continental champions.

Saudi Pro League Al Ittihad have qualified as the hosts’ representative, with Japanese side Urawa Red Diamonds claiming the AFC spot, as AFC Champions League winners.

Mexican side Club Leon qualify as CONCACAF Champions League winners, while Auckland City of New Zealand will make the trip to the Middle East as winners of the OFC Champions League.

Egyptian Premier League side Al Ahly beat Moroccan opponents Wydad 3-2 on aggregate to go through from the CAF Champions League.

Teams qualified as of June 11, 2023

  • Al Ittihad (Hosts)
  • Urawa Red Diamonds (AFC Champions League winners)
  • Club Leon (CONCACAF Champions League winners)
  • Auckland City (OFC Champions League winners)
  • Al Ahly (CAF Champions League winners)

FIFA Club World Cup 2023 format

The first round will pit Al Ittihad against Auckland City as the OFC representative are the lowest ranked confederation involved.

Urawa Red Diamonds, Club Leon and the CAF (Africa) Champions League winners will join the winner of that match in the second round.

UEFA Champions League winners and Copa Libertadores champions come in at the semifinal stage with all games following a straight knockout format.

If any matched is tied after 90 minutes of regulation time, 30 minutes of extra time will follow, with the potential for a penalty shootout, if there is no breakthrough.

Changes for FIFA Club World Cup 2025

The decision to increase the number of teams involved to 32 in 2025 has been met with a backlash from clubs, fans and domestic leagues, disrupted by a widened field.

It will also be switched to a June-July format, to try and minimise scheduling issues, but it will cut down preseason significantly ahead of the 2025/26 season.

As part of the altered qualification, the four previous champions of the AFC, CAF, CONCACAF and UEFA Champions League will still qualify, alongside big increases for European and South American teams.

UEFA have been provisionally offered 12 slots, with CONEMBOL given six.

Read the full article here

Leave A Reply