Livescore Thursday, April 25

The FIFA Club World Cup makes a key change for the 2023 edition ahead of the competition kickoff at the end of the year.

FIFA have opted to move the tournament to the end of the calendar year, for the first time since 2019, following three years of it being played at the start of the following year.

The update is a minor alteration, compared to the incoming controversial changes for the 2025 tournament, which brings the competition up to 32 teams.

The changes by FIFA have been met by a mixed reaction, with clubs frustrated by the addition of extra games added to the season calendar, with the 2023 version only scheduled for 10 days.

MORE: Real Madrid win record fifth FIFA Club World Cup – as it happened

When is the next FIFA Club World Cup 2023?

The FIFA Club World Cup 2023 will take place from December 12th to December 22nd, 2023.

UEFA have confirmed they will not alter the Champions League and domestic league schedules for the games but other federations could make changes.

Where is the next FIFA Club World Cup 2023?

FIFA have moved the FIFA Club World Cup to Saudi Arabia in 2023, for the first time in the nation’s history, as part of their bid to host the 2030 FIFA World Cup.

The 2022 final was held in Morocco, with the previous five finals held in either the United Arab Emirates or recent World Cup hosts Qatar.

FIFA Club World Cup expansion, format changes

The decision to increase the number of teams involved continues to rumble on, but that wont be an immediate issue this year.

The 2023 tournament broadly remains the same as recent tournaments, with seven teams from six federations, qualifying for it.

The Asian Football Confederation will have two teams involved, as Urawa Red Diamonds from Japan clinchied the 2022 AFC Champions League title, earlier this month.

Hosts Saudi Arabia will nominate one team, as hosts, which is likely to be the 2022/23 Saudi Pro League champions, as Cristiano Ronaldo aims for silverware at Al Nassr.

The remaining five spots will be taken by the winners of the 2022/23 UEFA Champions League, 2023 Copa Libertadores, 2022/23 CAF Champions League, 2023 CONCAF Champions League and 2023 OFC Champions League.

The first round game will pit the host nation representative against the OFC team for a place in the next stage.

Urawa Red Diamonds enter at the second round, alongside the teams from CAF (Africa) and CONCAF (North/Central America and the Caribbean), and the winner of the first round game.

The Champions League and Copa Libertadores winner arrive at the third round (semifinal) stage based on their higher ranking.

All matches follow a standard knockout format, with 30 minutes of extra-time and penalties permitted, if games are tied after 90 minutes of regulation action.

Read the full article here

Leave A Reply