Livescore Tuesday, April 23

The European club season concludes on June 10 with the UEFA Champions League final between Manchester City and Inter Milan.

Last year’s showpiece between Real Madrid and Liverpool was staged at the Stade de France — the national stadium of France, situated just north of the capital Paris in the suburb of Saint-Denis.

There has been some shuffling of final venues by European governing body UEFA in recent years between the COVID-19 pandemic and Russia’s invasion of Ukraine in February 2022. There was also speculation of a late change in 2023 due to political unrest.

However, the date and venue for the 2023 final have been set and The Sporting News brings you all the details below.

MORE: Teams qualified for the 2022-23 Champions League

Where is the UEFA Champions League final in 2023?

The 2023 UEFA Champions League final will be played at the Ataturk Olympic Stadium in Istanbul, Turkey which seats nearly 77,000.

The game will bring to a climax the 68th edition of Europe’s premier club tournament, and the 31st since the rebranding of the competition as the Champions League after being known for decades as the European Cup.

It will also be the second time the stadium has hosted the Champions League final, with the venue staging Liverpool’s thrilling comeback and eventual penalty shootout win following a 3-3 draw against Italian giants Milan in 2005.

The 2023 final was initially scheduled for Wembley Stadium in London, England, but the COVID-19 pandemic forced a reshuffling of hosts for the matches in recent years.

Ataturk Olympic Stadium, which opened in 2002, was originally scheduled to host the 2021 Champions League final, but two weeks before the final, it was moved to Porto’s Estadio do Dragao because of COVID-19 health and safety matters.

The change had a domino effect, with the tournament final hosts for the following years all pushed back as a result.

When is the UEFA Champions League final in 2023?

The 2023 UEFA Champions League final is on June 10, 2023 at Turkey’s Ataturk Olympic Stadium in Istanbul.

The fixture for the final is outside the typical May window due to shifts in the football calendar caused by the stoppage to allow the 2022 FIFA World Cup to take place for the first time in November and December. 

The game is set to kick off at 10 p.m. local time, which is 3 p.m. ET in the USA/Canada and 8 p.m. in the UK. If extra time and penalties are required, it would stretch the match deep into the wee hours of the night in Istanbul.

MORE: Champions League prize money breakdown

Where are future Champions League finals being held?

UEFA has already agreed the host cities for the next two editions of the Champions League final beyond 2023.

The 2022 Champions League final was originally scheduled for Saint Petersburg in Russia but was moved to France following the war in Ukraine.

Match Host
2023 UEFA Champions League final Ataturk Olympic Stadium (Istanbul, Turkey)
2024 UEFA Champions League final Wembley Stadium (London, England)
2025 UEFA Champions League final Allianz Arena (Munich, Germany)

Where have past Champions League finals been held?

The final has only ever been held once before in Turkey and the 2023 event will be the return trip for one of the biggest sporting events in the world.

Here we look at the venues that have hosted the final in the past, including dating back to the period where the competition was known as the European Cup.

MORE: Which cities have hosted the most Champions League finals?

Year Stadium Match
2023 Ataturk Olympic Stadium (Turkey) Manchester City vs. Inter Milan
2022 Stade de France (France) Liverpool 0-1 Real Madrid
2021 Estadio do Dragao (Portugal) Chelsea 1-0 Manchester City
2020 Estadio da Luz (Portugal) Bayern Munich 1-0 Paris Saint-Germain
2019 Wanda Metropolitano (Spain) Liverpool 2-0 Tottenham
2018 NSC Olimpiyskiy (Ukraine) Real Madrid 3-1 Liverpool
2017 Millennium Stadium (Wales) Real Madrid 4-1 Juventus
2016 San Siro (Italy) Real Madrid 1-1 Atletico Madrid (5-3 pen)
2015 Olympiastadion (Germany) Barcelona 3-1 Juventus
2014 Estadio da Luz (Portugal) Real Madrid 4-1 Atletico Madrid
2013 Wembley Stadium (England) Bayern Munich 2-1 Borussia Dortmund
2012 Allianz Arena (Germany) Chelsea 1-1 Bayern Munich (4-3 pen)
2011 Wembley Stadium (England) Barcelona 3-1 Manchester United
2010 Bernabeu (Spain) Inter Milan 2-0 Bayern Munich
2009 Stadio Olimpico (Italy) Barcelona 2-0 Manchester United
2008 Luzhniki Stadium (Russia) Manchester United 1-1 Chelsea (6-5 pen)
2007 OAKA Stadium (Greece) Milan 2-1 Liverpool
2006 Stade de France (France) Barcelona 2-1 Arsenal
2005 Ataturk Olympic Stadium (Turkey) Liverpool 3-3 Milan (3-2 pen)
2004 Arena AufSchalke (Germany) Porto 3-0 Monaco
2003 Old Trafford (England) Milan 0-0 Juventus (3-2 pen)
2002 Hampden Park (Scotland) Real Madrid 2-1 Bayer Leverkusen
2001 San Siro (Italy) Bayern Munich 1-1 Valencia (5-4 pen)
2000 Stade de France (France) Real Madrid 3-0 Valencia
1999 Camp Nou (Spain) Manchester United 2-1 Bayern Munich
1998 Amsterdam ArenA (Netherlands) Real Madrid 1-0 Juventus
1997 Olympiastadion (Germany) Borussia Dortmund 3-1 Juventus
1996 Stadio Olimpico (Italy) Juventus 1-1 Ajax (4-2 pen)
1995 Ernst Happel Stadion (Austria) Ajax 1-0 Milan
1994 OAKA Stadium (Greece) Milan 4-0 Barcelona
1993 Olympiastadion (Germany) Olympique Marseille 1-0 Milan
1992 Wembley Stadium (England) Barcelona 1-0 Sampdoria
1991 Stadio San Nicola (Italy) Red Star Belgrade 0-0 Marseille (5-3 pen)
1990 Prater Stadion (Austria) Milan 1-0 Benfica
1989 Camp Nou (Spain) Milan 4-0 Steaua Bucharest
1988 Neckarstadion (W. Germany) PSV 0-0 Benfica (6-5 pen)
1987 Prater Stadion (Austria) Porto 2-1 Bayern Munich
1986 Estadio Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan (Spain) Steaua Bucharest 0-0 Barcelona (2-0 pen)
1985 Heysel Stadium (Belgium) Juventus 1-0 Liverpool
1984 Stadio Olimpico (Italy) Liverpool 1-1 Roma (4-2 pen)
1983 OAKA Stadium (Greece) Hamburg 1-0 Juventus
1982 De Kuip (Netherlands) Aston Villa 1-0 Bayern Munich
1981 Parc des Princes (France) Liverpool 1-0 Real Madrid
1980 Bernabeu (Spain) Nottingham Forest 1-0 Hamburg
1979 Olympiastadion (Germany) Nottingham Forest 1-0 Malmo
1978 Wembley Stadium (England) Liverpool 1-0 Club Brugge
1977 Stadio Olimpico (Italy) Liverpool 3-1 Borussia Monchengladbach
1976 Hampden Park (Scotland) Bayern Munich 1-0 Saint-Etienne
1975 Parc des Princes (France) Bayern Munich 2-0 Leeds United
1974 Heysel Stadium (Belgium) Bayern Munich 4-0 Atletico Madrid
1973 Stadion Crvena Zvezda (Yugoslavia) Ajax 1-0 Juventus
1972 De Kuip (Netherlands) Ajax 2-0 Milan
1971 Wembley Stadium (England) Ajax 2-0 Panathinaikos
1970 San Siro (Italy) Feyenoord 2-1 Celtic
1969 Bernabeu (Spain) Milan 4-1 Ajax
1968 Wembley Stadium (England) Manchester United 4-1 Benfica
1967 Estadio Nacional (Portugal) Celtic 2-1 Inter Milan
1966 Heysel Stadium (Belgium) Real Madrid 2-1 Partizan
1965 San Siro (Italy) Inter Milan 1-0 Benfica
1964 Prater Stadion (Austria) Inter Milan 3-1 Real Madrid
1963 Wembley Stadium (England) Milan 2-1 Benfica
1962 Olympisch Stadion (Netherlands) Benfica 5-3 Real Madrid
1961 Wankdorfstadion (Switzerland) Benfica 3-2 Barcelona
1960 Hampden Park (Scotland) Real Madrid 7-3 Eintracht Frankfurt
1959 Neckarstadion (W. Germany) Real Madrid 2-0 Reims
1958 Heysel Stadium (Belgium) Real Madrid 3-2 AC Milan
1957 Bernabeu (Spain) Real Madrid 2-0 Fiorentina
1956 Stade Velodrome Paris (France) Real Madrid 4-3 Reims

Read the full article here

Leave A Reply